top of page
  • How are age groups determined at diving competitions?
    You may have seen reference to Groups A, B, C, D and E at various levels of junior diving competition in the UK and abroad. These groups reflect the ages of divers competing in that event and are commonly used in England, including at the National Age Group Championships and National Skills Finals. Diving age groups are established from a diver’s age on 31 December of the year of competition: Group A – 16 / 17 / 18 Yrs Group B – 14 / 15 Yrs Group C – 12 / 13 Yrs Group D – 10 / 11 Yrs Group E – 8 / 9 Yrs
  • How are divers scored in competitions?
    Diving scores reflect the fact that each dive has elements that make it more or less difficult than another dive. This includes: The body position or combinations of positions From what approach, or group, the dive will be taken. There is no distinction between running and standing take-offs, and each dive has its own tariff or degree of difficulty, defined by FINA. A dive is split into five parts: The Starting Position The Approach The Take-Off The Flight The Entry Dives must be executed either head-first or feet-first into the water, although feet-first entries are typically only used for some 1m springboard dives at junior level or for high diving. In all cases the body must be straight with the feet together and the toes pointed. In head-first entries the arms need to be extended beyond the head, and in feet-first dives the arms must be at the sides. The entry into the water must be vertical or nearly so. Did you know: A diver taking off from the 10metre platform hits the water at 30mph and is in the air for less than three seconds. Diving Scores and Judges Diving scores use a range from one to 10, in ½-point increments. The score of each dive is calculated by first adding the total awards of the judges. It is customary to have five or seven judges – seven at certain major international events – and they only focus on how the dive has been performed. The difficulty of a dive is denoted by its tariff. When calculating the overall score for a dive, the highest and lowest diving scores from the judges are ignored. If there are five judges, the remaining three scores are multiplied by the tariff to give the dive score. If there are seven judges, the five remaining scores are added together. Then the result is mathematically adjusted to be the equivalent of three scores for comparison purposes. In synchronised diving events, there is a panel of seven or nine judges: two to give diving scores to one diver, two to mark the execution of the other, and three or five to judge the synchronisation.
  • What are "dive numbers"?"
    Dives are described by their full name (e.g. reverse 3 1/2 somersault with 1/2 twist) or by their numerical identification (e.g. 5371D), or “dive number.” Specific dive numbers are created by using these guidelines: 1. All dives are identified by three or four digits and one letter. Twisting dives utilize four numerical digits, while all other dives use three. 2. The first digit indicates the dive’s group: 1 = forward, 2 = back, 3 = reverse, 4 = inward, 5 = twisting, 6 = armstand. 3. In front, back, reverse, and inward dives, a ‘1’ as the second digit indicates a flying action. A ‘0’ indicates none. In twisting and armstand dives, the second digit indicates the dive’s group (forward, back, reverse). 4. The third digit indicates the number of half somersaults. 5. The fourth digit, if applicable, indicates the number of half twists. 6. The letter indicates body position: A = straight, B = pike, C = tuck, D = free. Examples: 107B = Forward dive with 3 1/2 somersaults in a pike position 305C = Reverse dive with 2 1/2 somersaults in a tuck position 5253B = Back dive with 2 1/2 somersaults and 1 1/2 twists in a pike position
  • How will I know if a lesson has been cancelled?
    In rare cases, we may have to cancel a lesson, for example if a coach is unwell or has issues with transportation. SWLD uses Twitter to make any such announcements. Follow us on Twitter @SWLondonDiving.
  • Where can I find complete results from diving events?
    Diving events that use DiveRecorder technology can be found on the DiveRecorder website. You can search by diver surname or event at:
  • What are the qualifying standards for the 2019 National Skills Finals in Plymouth?
    National Skills Final - 2019 From 2019, scores are compulsary and all divers must achieve the qualifying standard to be eligible to compete in the National Skills Final. Qualification scores must have been achieved at a regional Swim England qualification event. Evidence is required. Age Group: Quaifying Score Group E: 240 Group D: 255 Group C: 270 Note: A circuit of pre-designated skills performed on the poolside, 1m and 3m boards plus two optional dives chosen from a prescribed list from the 1m board.) Group B+: 250 Note:10 dives from 1 & 3m boards Diving age groups are established from a diver’s age on 31 December of the year of competition: Group A – 16 / 17 / 18 Yrs Group B – 14 / 15 Yrs Group C – 12 / 13 Yrs Group D – 10 / 11 Yrs Group E – 8 / 9 Yrs

If you don't see the answer to your question here, just ask us!

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page